Men’s shirt to women’s shirt refashion

Posted on Updated on

I  often look at the rails of men’s shirts in charity shops.

The quality of the fabric is good with some nice patterns, they are big and less expensive than the women’s equivalent, and they’re often in good condition.

Ideal to re-fashion to something wearable surely?

WP_20150524_17_46_06_Pro

I bought this Superdry men’s blue check shirt in a ‘charity boutique’ hence the outrageous £8 price tag, but then again these shirts retail at £45 so I suppose it’s still a big saving, and it was is very good condition.

The size was medium so I would have to make it bigger and I was planning to do this by adding side panels made from the sleeves. The shoulders were about OK though.

I usually prefer to unpick rather than cut garments up but I was feeling a bit lazy and the seams were very well constructed and didn’t come apart easily, so made the following cuts.

WP_20150524_17_31_45_Pro

I unpicked the collar which instantly transformed the collar into a grandad style.

I inserted side panels made from the sleeves to make the shirt wider. The colour looks wrong in this photo.

WP_20150524_18_11_14_Pro

My idea was to make sleeves something like thisWP_20150524_18_17_13_Pro

But this shirt fabric was a little too solid so I just went for a single cap sleeve.

I also added some darts

WP_20150525_15_26_49_Pro

To shape the back I sewed up the pleats but not in the bust area.

WP_20150525_15_27_49_Pro

I stitched a logo detail from the cuff onto the new cap sleeve

WP_20150525_15_28_35_Pro

After a little hand sewing to neaten off, the shirt was ready

WP_20150527_11_32_47_ProWP_20150527_11_32_09_ProWP_20150621_14_47_31_ProWP_20150621_14_47_43_Pro

I like the thick slightly brushed cotton of this good quality shirt but this will still be a cool one for the summer because there’s quite a bit of armpit ventilation.

I didn’t alter the overall length so this shirt is a bit longer than I would normally wear.

Was it a simple make? NO!

The armhole was the trickiest bit, cutting the sleeves off left a huge gaping hole, the darts being almost necessary to stop my bra being on show.

The collar alteration was the most straightforward part.

There was a lot to change in the shape to make it fit.  I took a fairly easy option to convert to cap sleeves.

I’d been a bit rough and ready with the panel I’d made for the sides and had to put a dart in to make it smaller near the armpit and to stop gaping.

I’m not completely happy with the back length and may shorten it later.

3 thoughts on “Men’s shirt to women’s shirt refashion

    charityshopchic said:
    June 9, 2015 at 9:14 am

    Oooh, what a good find! I would say £8 is not outrageous, but the price has shot up in most of the charity shops in my area.
    I like your shirt refashion, particularly love how you kept the Japanese character embroidery from the original shirt. I hope you get lots of wear out of it!
    Sally

    Like

      helentristam responded:
      June 28, 2015 at 9:31 pm

      Thanks, charity shopping is so trendy it’s pushing the prices up. What’s pleasing though is that I am actually wearing my refashioned stuff more and more mainly because I started with something good to refashion, and that’s not always the cheapest.

      Like

    cadpaint said:
    June 28, 2015 at 5:07 pm

    Love it! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

