Pieces of eight

Posted on Updated on

        WP_20150819_19_40_38_Pro  WP_20150820_11_17_06_Pro

The logo on my Greek t-shirt was past its best but the shirt itself was still OK.

I had an idea I wanted to try out which involved cutting some strips of fabric, hemming them and hand stitching some running stitches along both edges which I used to gather the strips.

The strips were quite long and the gathering had to be done in sections.

I arranged the gathered strips in a figure of 8 and hand sewed them in place with tiny stitches.

This fabric was quite thick and didn’t gather that well, the next time I try this technique I will be using lighter fabric.

The new figure of 8 feels nice though, I keep wanting to touch it.  Washing and ironing new logo may be a challenge!

WP_20150704_13_14_20_Pro  WP_20150820_11_05_22_Pro

Leave a Reply

