Linen dress to skirt

Posted on

I bought this dress for £1 at my favourite local charity shop.  It was Laura Ashley, 100% linen, made in China.

WP_20150817_12_54_45_Pro  WP_20150929_11_42_07_Pro

Although I do like the style of the dress, it was too small, I could barely breathe.  My plan was to make it bigger.

The construction was quite complicated.  Both top and skirt parts of the dress were made of a number of panels.

I tried to make it bigger by adding extra panels in a contrast fabric to the back of the top part but it was too difficult.

WP_20150821_16_05_19_Pro  WP_20150826_17_46_08_Pro

I abandoned that plan and went for the simpler one of making the bottom half into a skirt.

Once I unpicked the skirt it was a good fit.  I basically just need to finish it off.

Although in this case I was using a lower, wider part of the dress as the new waist for the skirt, it is often the case with too small items that once you remove the waistband and make a bigger one there is no need for any further alterations to make it fit.  The fabric will accommodate a small amount of stretching,  its like magic and very convenient.

WP_20150929_11_37_54_Pro  WP_20150920_17_08_36_Pro

I added a green cord pleated frill.   The cord came from an old jacket, the frill was edged with the jacket lining. I also part lined the top half of the skirt with lining salvaged from a previous project.

WP_20150929_09_51_14_Pro

On the underside I made the lining cover the whole of the cord frill, this was because the frill looked quite messy and when I sat down I didn’t want the mess to be on view.

The waist band was made from the cord jacket belt. I just used Velcro and a press stud to fasten it because the opening was quite small.

WP_20150929_11_37_31_Pro  WP_20150929_09_52_24_Pro

I couldn’t resist adding a few flowers.

WP_20150929_11_37_44_Pro

I haven’t got a dress form so when I’m making something I just keep trying it on.  This can be a bit of a nuisance but a dress form can’t sit down or walk so my opinion is it’s better to try on.  By trying on, I could see how the folds of the skirt hung and site my flower accordingly.

WP_20151005_08_54_05_Pro

I’ve made the length of this skirt long enough to wear with boots and tights for the autumn/winter.

One thought on “Linen dress to skirt

    Thebigmango said:
    March 7, 2016 at 11:41 am

    I like the finished skirt more than the dress, particularly the played ruffle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

