Scarf to top refashion

Posted on

Someone had dropped this scarf on my route to work.

20160727_094308-1[1]

Their loss was my gain.

I had originally intended to make it into a kimono, but most of the pattern action was in one corner.  I got inspiration from pinterest and decided to make it into a top instead.

The scarf was quite large, 110cm square, with a hand rolled edge.  There was a label but it was blank,  I think the fabric is some kind of fine floaty rayon, its definitely not silk.

This clever lady has worked out a way of cutting a square and 2 triangles out of a square shaped scarf which works as the pieces of a top.

Here is an ‘in progress’ photo of my version.  Like the original, my scarf had a useful border to add interest.

20160727_192921-1[1]

20160727_193022-1[1]

Due to the large size of my scarf it was going to turn out as a tunic.  I had enough fabric to make both front and back necklines much higher than the original.

The fabric was very slippery and frayed a lot, this was not something I managed to put together in a couple of hours, but most of the time was spent with minor adjustments to the fit, as I am becoming a bit of a perfectionist.

Here is the final version.

20160803_085319[1]

And me wearing it

20160801_183625[1]

20160801_183631-1[1]

 

The bias cut produces a garment that naturally hangs nicely, and, like a kimono this top has a loose and floaty nature. It’s also extremely light and folds up into nothing.

Bonus feature

20160721_172633-1[1]

I could not believe my eyes when I spotted a box full of patterns left out on the street for anyone to take,  near my home.  Does someone know where I live?

I had a rummage through and took as many as would fit in my bag.

20160803_085059[1]

Ok, they are dated, but sewing patterns left practically on your doorstep can’t just be passed by.

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Scarf to top refashion

    Fadanista said:
    August 3, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    Oh my goodness, but I love this top! I’ve been known to do the odd scarf refashion, but I like this much, much more and am now wondering where I can find a scarf to play with. Thank you for the link to the original post, although I like the length of yours. Good find on the patterns too.

    Like

    tropicaljenks said:
    August 4, 2016 at 3:21 am

    I have a few beautiful scarves I’m waiting to refashion and this is a perfect solution. And the patterns??? Unbelievable. I would have taken the box 😆

    Like

      helentristam responded:
      August 4, 2016 at 7:53 am

      Thanks for your comment, I was lucky to find a scarf with a nice border.

      Liked by 1 person

    kitblue said:
    August 4, 2016 at 7:36 am

    The way the borders meet and accent each section looks quite high fashion. I am sure that strangers would have no idea this used to be a scarf (unless it is the woman who lost it!). I wonder if even your friends who know you refashion would guess. I can`t imagine finding a square scarf big enough to make a tunic for myself but I am pinning it for inspiration.
    I can imagine using a few of the patterns. I especially like the pinafore. I like this style of top to wear with leggings or slacks with no pockets because pockets are necessary in my life. The skirt with the V girdle reminds me of a slacks pattern of which I have made at least 3; I still wear all of them regularly.

    Like

      helentristam responded:
      August 4, 2016 at 7:55 am

      Thanks for your comment. I will try some of the patterns soon. This scarf really lent itself to the transformation.

      Like

    Lori Kay said:
    August 4, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    Beautiful top. I’m off to check out the tutorial!

    Like

    helentristam responded:
    August 5, 2016 at 8:03 am

    It’s such a simple but effective no pattern cut, thanks for your comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

