Long skirt to top refashion

Posted on

I bought this long skirt because I was attracted to the large amount of fabric and attractive border and it cost me £3.49, which was 10% of the original, still attached, price tag of £35.

20161029_191212-11

The fabric was 100% polyester and there was a short gauzy white underskirt which I ended up using for facings.

20161029_191230-11

 

My plan was to make a top, using a pattern given to me by a friend, incorporating the border of the skirt and the original hem.

The fabric was very light and floaty and the brand was ‘Glamorous’, one I had never heard of.  I looked it up and it appears to be an online shop of the type that claims to offer massive discounts. I don’t think that glamorous would have been my first choice of description for the original skirt though.

20161031_091529-11

When I started cutting the pattern pieces out, it became obvious that this fabric was trouble.  It slipped and frayed all over the place,  even after weighing  it down in every place possible.

My newly and expensively purchased ‘walking foot’ did help in the actual sewing though.

20161031_1530341

Here is the finished top.  It will be good for travelling light because it takes up only the space of a light scarf and doesn’t really crease.

20161031_091706-11

 

Bonus feature: Refashionables in Modern Art

20161014_153946-11

On a recent trip to Tate Liverpool I was drawn to the above exhibit by Michelangelo Pistoletto  entitled  ‘Venus of the rags’ .  The description describes the mound of clothes as  ‘the detritus of modern society’ but I was thinking ‘that looks like a rather nice vintage scarf’

20161014_1542171

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

