Refashioned Denim top with pocket

Posted on

20161128_102105-11

 

Denim is one of my favourite fabrics to refashion.  It improves with age, and jeans have pockets and other details which can come in so useful.  Denim also goes well with almost any other fabric, in fact it looks better when combined with other colours and patterns.

I have no before photos for the above top but really I just used the before items as fabric.  The front came from 2 pairs of jeans, obviously, both fairly lightweight denim with 2% elastane .  In fact I made a mistake with the pattern and forgot to flip it over when cutting out the second half, I had intended to use only one pair of jeans.

The sleeves were made from erm.. a girl’s dress which I found in the street. People here often leave things spread out on their garden walls as free stuff for others to take  –  its a stretchy knitted fabric. Other items that were left out were mainly toys.  They would probably be surprised if they knew the eventual fate of the dress!

The back of the top actually was fabric, 100% cotton bought from a local market.

The top was based on this pattern which I have used before

20161213_1427471

Bonus feature:

I was delighted to see some vintage linens feature in the Turner prize this year.

20161005_1413291

This entry by Helen Marten was the eventual winner.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Refashioned Denim top with pocket

    Laura Casey said:
    December 14, 2016 at 9:55 am

    Hi , This is a lovely make – really creative. Would you mind if I used the image on my social media . I will of course reference you and link to your website.

    Many thanks
    Laura (Sew Different)

    Like

      Helen responded:
      December 14, 2016 at 11:13 am

      Hi Laura, I love your 2 hr top pattern and have made 3 of them so no problem with using the image.

      Like

Leave a Reply

