2022 Sewing review

Posted on

Yes, I do mean 2022, I’m a bit behind.

I made 10 things

M8030 shirt dress in striped quilting cotton

Why did I make this dress? I was going to a party and wanted a new dress to wear, pattern was already in my stash given free with Love Sewing magazine.

The fabric suggestions revealed it was designed for striped fabrics which narrowed the choice down a bit. I had 2m of striped quilting type cotton, bought from a bulk charity shop purchase, a fabric which hadn’t really been on my radar.

Sewing with quilting cotton is such a dream and it worked well with this pattern. Fabric requirements were 2.7m to my 2m but by shortening the length, making the button placket from pieces, and using a scrap of another fabric for the pockets, it all came together. I shortened the length of the yolk by 2cm following a suggestion by another blogger to make the armholes smaller, and the main pieces by 4cm but it’s still a bit long on me.

I made a M at the shoulders and L elsewhere and its quite roomy. I’ve worn this dress 22 times at the time of writing and it still counts as a casual going out dress. It’s a comfortable dress and I always like wearing it but when I see photos of me in it, it doesn’t look very flattering. I like this pattern and would consider making again. I think this one has at least another 30 wears in it.

Replacement rucksack

I made a 2nd version of a rubbed off rucksack basically using fabric scraps. This is probably my most worn make of the year as I use it daily. I like the front pocket which is the back of a pair of shorts and includes the shorts pocket and belt hooks. 2023 update – this rucksack wore out and I’ve now made another one. Making rucksacks is great because you can use up a load of small pieces.

2 x T shirts from own block

Why did I make these t-shirts? They were experimental and I wanted to try out something I’d read about.

I was inspired by Sewing with Di to create my own block and use the block to sew up a couple of t-shirts. The reason her post caught my eye was because she points out the importance of vertical measurements as well as horizontal ones, which makes such sense because it’s great to know your waist measurement but important to place the measurement in the correct vertical place. I took lot of body measurements, vertical as well as horizontal, and drew a block and used it for a basic t-shirt. I didn’t use my actual waist measurement because t-shirts aren’t shaped at the waist that much, and my sleeve ended up without much of a sleeve head on the first version. I made a kind of boob bulge in the side seam because all t-shirts end up with drag lines towards the bust apex with me. The bulge probably only added about an inch of ease – the armhole got in the way of doing it properly, but maybe the bulge made a bit of difference.

I used low quality t-shirt fabric bought in a charity shop and did not add a seam allowance, counting on the 35% widthways stretch in the fabric for ease.

For the 2nd version I raised the sleeve head, shortened and widened the sleeve, and lowered the neckline a little.

Both versions are close fitting t-shirts which have been worn 20 times each. Next time I make a t-shirt I’ll use an actual pattern but reference this block.

Due to the poor quality fabric and close fit I don’t see these t-shirts lasting beyond 40 wears, if that.

Sewgirl Amelia top in Liberty lawn

Why did I make this? Just got the urge to sew something. I’d bought this 1 metre of Liberty tana lawn a few years ago in the London shop. Once again I already had the pattern given free in a magazine. The style is very simple and I made a size 14 but in the unlikely event of making it again I would size down to a 12 as it came out big and shapeless. I added a shoulder dart and took in the sides. The lovely fabric rescued this garment, which has been worn 20 times, but due to the lightness of the fabric it’s a summer season only top. I don’t buy these magazines any more because after a while they don’t seem fresh but I do often buy the patterns that came with them if I spot them in a charity shop.

Half circle skirt

Why did I make this? I wanted to make something and didn’t have that many skirts. I looked through my patterns and found this half circle skirt included as an option. It was a chance to repurpose one of the growing number of tablecloths I’ve purchased.

Just about managed to eke this out of a linen tablecloth with just a small join in the back piece. I added a pattern matched patch pocket. It’s a basic make I’ve worn 20 times and fits well into my wardrobe. My waist was larger than the largest size but I just made a waistband to fit me and added a little to the top edges of the skirt. I repeated a mistake I have made before which was not letting the skirt hang before hemming it.

Update – the tablecloth was a fairly loose weave and I’ve had to repair a small tear at the pocket opening. I don’t think this skirt will see 50 wears.

K8878 Shift dress from Ora Keily Curtain.

Why did I make this? – wanted something new to wear on holiday.

I made the most basic version of this dress, which can also be made as a tunic, using fabric which was formerly a curtain. The curtain fabric was medium weight which worked well for this dress but it was fairly loose weave and frayed like hell. I made a size M at the shoulders and L elsewhere, and if I make it again would size down the sleeves and neckline. The pocket construction was a bit different because the pocket doesn’t hang free but is sewn onto the front piece. I like this dress a lot and have another curtain in mind to make another from, trouble is I already have too many dresses.

The dress is very comfy and has been worn 20 times up to now but because the fabric frays so much, has a few pulls, and has faded a bit, I can’t see it lasting beyond 40 wears.

K9041 Simplicity

Why did I make this? – for a holiday, pattern was given free in a magazine.

I made this dress for a holiday in vintage 1981 fabric which is very light and floaty. I made a size 14 throughout with a FBA which took the form of an increased bodice width. The wrap element inevitably gaped so I closed it with some buttons which does spoil the look a little, but I still feel very glamorous in this dress. The fabric is a little see through so I wear it with an underskirt.

Due to the delicate nature of the fabric this dress is still a ‘going out’ outfit and I have only worn it 10 times but unless it gets damaged I can see the dress going to at least 40 wears.

2 x Blackwood cardigans

Why did I make these? Both fabrics I used were bought new in a shop (unusual for me) and I also bought the pattern in 2021. I always know Helen’s closet patterns will turn out well.

The first version was in a lightweight rib knit and was the longer length cardigan. It came together very easily and I soon got started on the 2nd version. The fabric for the 2nd one was mustard coloured viscose jersey, in a nice quality which I’d originally purchased to make a t-shirt as a gift. It came out equally well as a Blackwood cardigan. I’m not sure if I am completely happy with the non-closing design of this garment as I find myself constantly pulling it together at the front, but it isn’t meant to close, however both of these cardigans have been versatile and well worn. I don’t count how many times I wear them as they are taken on and off during the day.

Conclusion – In 2022 I made 10 items to wear, and also discarded 13 items because they were worn out, in line with my goal to reduce the number of clothes I have until everything can be worn at least 10 times per year. The reason (or excuse I use) to make something new is for a particular occasion like a holiday, not because of actual need, and here lies the dilemma, I want to sew but I want to wear my clothes out within a reasonable time frame, and I am finding most items can easily take 40 wears. I have found that good fabric is the most important element in the success of a make and can rescue a mediocre pattern.

A note on washing and #30 wears – I read an article, the gist of which was if you can’t commit to wearing a garment 30 times, don’t buy it. My records have shown that almost everything can make it past 30 wears, but will be showing some signs of age by then. I don’t always wear my clothes all day long because I have 2 jobs which require a uniform. I also don’t wash my clothes that often, usually only after about 5 wears, and I consider that washing something is the equivalent of about 5 wears, so maybe that’s why my clothes are lasting a long time. I am a professional gardener and my gardening clothes get washed 20 or 30 times per season. They do not last beyond one or two seasons.

Due to the lateness of this post it’s now nearly time to write the 2023 version. I’ve only made 6 things in 2023 so not that much to write about.

Leave a comment